It was a full weekend of live music for me and I enjoyed all of it! Feeling quite fortunate to have been entertained by such fine musicians while sharing the musical experience with great friends!

Started out on Thursday night at Mama’s Pub for their acoustic night with Darrell Grant (of Modabo fame). He has been described as being ‘quietly brillant’ and I have to agree. I will be seeking him out again!

I was able to swing by Dolan’s Pub for a set of Mad Mary … wow! Tina Gaudreau has a powerful voice and the band was tight. The dance floor was full and there was more than one person singing along 🙂

Friday night I was fortunate to get a seat at the Lansdowne House Concert featuring The Hupman Brothers … it was a great night of music and community. Paul McDonnell opens up his home to host these concerts and has been doing so for a bit more than a year now. It was my first time attending but obviously a lot of people there were regulars and clearly enjoy experiencing the music up close and personal as well as sharing great food, drink and conversation during the break. The brothers, Scott and Ryan, were amazing to watch as they skillfully maneuvered their acoustics – Scott also played an acoustic baratone which was something new to me. They obviously love what they do and have a great sense of humour which just adds to their live performance. Be sure to check them out for yourself. They are up for an ECMA award this year and I look forward to catching them with their full band in Moncton during the ECMA weekend April 12-16.

Last night, Saturday, I made my way to DJ Purdy’s @ the Delta Hotel to spend EARTH HOUR with Tim Walker by candlelight 🙂 I have been able to catch a few of Tim’s solo shows around town lately and was happy to hear that Grand Theft Bus are busy recording their next album.

My last stop for the night was at the Lunar Rogue to catch Dave Beattie and the Question … there was good energy in the room and the band sounded great. You can also catch Dave every Wednesday night at Dolan’s Pub singing/playing with the Late Night Orchestra. Be sure to ask him for a Neil Young cover – he always nails those!