SA4
Beautiful St. Andrews by the Sea

Sunday morning has come down and another Paddlefest weekend is drawing to a close. The car will soon be pointed back to Fredericton but before I hit the road I thought I’d reflect just a bit. As is often the case, I was not able to see all the music I had intended but the socializing is a very important part of the experience and sometimes the coffee shops are just so inviting and the decks hold your attention a little longer than expected. Here are just a few highlights:

I arrived on Friday afternoon in time to catch the 4:30 show at the Gables where Gordie Tentrees was playing. I must admit that I was a bit tense through his performance because of his obvious frustration with lack of total attention from the crowd. He was verbal in his displeasure and I felt the need to hush everyone during his songs. It can’t always be easy for performers who have to deal with those in the audience who did not come for the music. I’m happy he made the trek from Whitehorse and would like to think his overall impression of St. Andrews is a good one. Thanks for sharing your craft Gordie!

Friday night the energy was high in the tent with Thom Swift & the El Caminos making plenty of noise to rouse the crowd. Ross Neilsen Band was electrifying as they performed tunes from their latest album and kept the dance floor crowded. Garrett Mason & Keith Hallett wrapped up the night in the tent with their impressive guitar licks with intense drive.

Ross Neilsen Band
Ross Neilsen Band

Saturday afternoon in the tent brought all the kids out to burn off lots of energy with the sounds of Scotty & the Stars. I was tired just watching those little guys run circles around me!

Scott & The Stars
Scott & The Stars

The Red Herring featured Ross Neilsen solo for a suppertime show and it was the perfect setting for meeting new friends and enjoying the sunshine.

Ross Neilsen
Ross Neilsen

The temperatures may have been chilly on Saturday night but all venues were alive with the sounds of music spilling into the street from a few different venues. The theme in the tent was “dance, be happy, be warm” and the bands leant their sounds and energy to make that happen easily! The Kendra Gale Band packed the Red Herring in support of their hometown favourites and were delighted with the sounds 0f Cécile Doo-Kingue.

Paper Lions
Paper Lions

This mornings brunch featuring Adam Olmstead was sold out! Another sign of a super successful weekend.

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the stories & hugs shared, the new connections made, sunshine on the water and all the while the air was filled with the great sounds of music everywhere! Thanks St. Andrews for another great weekend! This long weekend in May always marks the beginning of the festival season for me and I feel fortunate to have so many more live music experiences to look forward to!

How did you spend your long weekend?

