Hi all!

There has been, and continues to be, lots of music happening in the city this month! As a starting point you can check out my last post on the Fredericton Tourism site by clicking here.

Last Friday night I was blown away by one of the best shows I’ve experienced at the Fredericton Playhouse . The legendary, Grammy award winning group, The Mavericks provided a perfect night of music & entertainment. These 9 very sharp dressed and amazingly talented musicians played a solid 2 hours giving it all they had to give regardless of a smaller crowd then they must be used to. Its was awesome to see everyone up and dancing!

This week I’m taking my parents to the David Francey show at the Charlotte Street Arts Centre on Friday night. I have seen David before (like 4 times!) and I am always impressed with his modesty and authenticity. His songs are observant of the simple things in life and about things we all can relate to. I like his Scottish accent and he tells some funny stories 🙂 I’m very happy that he will be playing in my town this week!

Now if I could be in 2 places at once, I’d get myself to the iRock on Friday night too because I don’t like to miss a chance to see Les Hay Babies . These 3 girls are from the Moncton area and people are really taking note of their music as they are travelling the world these days! Check them out!

Come Saturday night, I will be hitting up Wilser’s Room to spend time with the fantastic Sissy & the Hobos ! They’re playing an early show starting at 8 and as always I look forward to their sweet harmonies and hoping for a few sing-alongs too! And quite honestly – getting a little more banjo in my weekend is just the very right thing to do!

Another show happening on Saturday night – too many overlaps this week! – is the Duane Andrews and Craig Young show at the Charlotte Street Arts Centre. These 2 guitar aficionados hailing from Newfoundland are touring in support of their debut LP, Charlie’s Boogie. “Duane Andrews and Craig Young will showcase their eclectic genre comprised of gypsy jazz, bluegrass and traditional Newfoundland tunes. The refreshing live performance will leave audiences fascinated from start to finish.” I have no doubt it will be an amazing night of music! Preview a few tracks at http://www.charliesboogie.com/

So there you have just a small sampling of the live music happening in Fredericton this weekend – and I only touched on Friday and Saturday! Check out the running calendar on the blog, decide where you are going to let the music move you and then drop me a line to let me know where you went. Share the fun!