As this year comes to an end I have been thinking about what has happened over the last 12 months. There were big events like my sister getting married, getting settled into a new home, rediscovering hiking, getting a new tattoo AND lots of music! 2013 was abundant in great musical events – festivals, road trips to concerts and local performances.

I will not be able to mention them all (I was out to A LOT of good music!) however here are some of my highlights :

The Playhouse had more than a few fantastic shows – Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Serena Ryder, Steve Earle, The Mavericks (amazingly energized show!), Roseanne Cash, Sarah Slean,Matt Anderson with Symphony New Brunswick, and probably more which I am forgetting right now.

steve earle and me
Steve Earle and Me!

Music festivals have always held a special place in my heart and I was fortunate to attend a few in 2013 and a goal for the new year is to search out at least one new festival.

Festival season started with Shivering Songs in the dead of winter with Sarah Harmer at the Wilmot Church and the Sadies at the Market to name but two! I loved the community feel of the Nashwaak Music Festival  and I saw the Sherman Downey Band for the 1st time, Paddlefest in St. Andrews (fondly known as the bubble) was fun with Ross Neilsen Band and The Belle Comedians. I made my way to Perth Andover for the Larlee Creek Hullabaloo and especially blown away by Christine Campbell and fell in love with Olympic Symphonium at the little chuch on Sunday. FredRock kicked butt despite the weather – Hollerado & City & Color were new to me and Matt Mays just seems to get better with time. I enjoyed a revisit with the Avett Brothers at the Harvest Jazz & Blues Festival and was really impressed by The 24th Street Wailers.

Matt Mays at FredRock
Matt Mays at FredRock

The Steve Poltz show at the Cedar Tree was unreal! (click here for previous post) That man knows how to entertain. He is a great writer, a great story teller and even a good actor at points. I left that show feeling so jazzed up and inspired. I am absolutely thrilled to know he will be back in Fredericton at the 2014 Shivering Songs Festival. Don`t miss your chance to see him!

yes, I was more than a little bit happy! Thanks Steve
yes, I was more than a little bit happy! Thanks Steve

I enjoyed shows at the Charlotte Street Arts Centre like Amelia Curran and David Francey. I was able to catch great local bands around town like Sissy & the Hobos, Keith Hallett & the Worlds Fair, Josh Bravener, Sugarbomb, Dapper Dan & the Drive In Classics and Mountain Chicken.

I made a few trips to Portland`s Port City Music Hall to see Todd Snider, Jason Isbell and Lucero. The sound is great in that room and the audiences were attentive and responsive at all 3 shows!

I sang along, I cried, I laughed, I was inspired, I was humbled and I danced! That is the power of the live music experience and the reason I feel so passionately about it. I will continue to support, promote and encourage the music in 2014!!

What are some of your musical highlights from 2013? Who is on your wish list for 2014? I would love to hear from you.